Sick, but so worldly.

May 22, 2008

Emperor penguins from Planet Earth

I’ve been out of commission for the past few days with the stomach flu (gross), but, in between naps, I’ve been able to take in a few episodes of the BBC’s Planet Earth, a multi-part series chronicling all kinds of natural phenomena. My dear husband picked up the whole set at the library, and not a moment too soon, sick-speaking.

For those who haven’t seen PE, it’s not only a feat of natural history photography, it’s also a great encouragement for those of us who strive to live Small: loads of the plants and animals featured — from coral reefs to krill, Arctic polar bears to snow leopards — are being depleted at alarming rates, and many, it is speculated, by human-caused climate change.

So, I suppose if I want the baby who lives next door to see timberwolves outside of an extinct species chart, I’d better keep downing my footprint.

Photo above: From the “Ice Worlds” episode of Planet Earth. Those are Emperor penguins getting ready to wait out the triple-freezing Antarctic winter. They are incubating their eggs in special “pouches” just above their feet and just below their blubber-line. Cool. Literally.

3 Responses to “Sick, but so worldly.”

  1. Michelle said

    Thanks for the tip–I’ll put it on my list of things to get at the library. In the same vein (amazing photography, depleting resources), if you haven’t seen Baraka, I highly recommend it. I hope you’re feeling better!

  2. Thanks, Michelle. I’m getting there, slowly but surely.

    I haven’t seen Baraka, but it’s been something hovering on the outskirts of my radar for a long time. Thanks for the rec; I’ll put it on my library hold list!

  3. […] you have the flu, however, eat the B.R.A.T. diet: bananas, rice, applesauce, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

