9 Mos. Down: The Year of No New Threads

September 30, 2008

Heading into the homestretch here at the Year of No New Threads HQ. September was gentle on me, with only a few thrift store scores (winter white sweater vest from the early ’70s? Yes, please.) and some handmade, second-life-vintage jewelry (!) by Portland-based designer Anna Korte — read all about her.

Still nothing non-used or handmade, as per the original pledge, but I’m finding that, as I settle into the nix on the new, I’m not really drawn to off-the-rack things anyhow. So is this challenge really a challenge?

True that, pre-Year of New New Threads, I was known to spend some dough at Nordstrom Rack, or even the scary Ross in downtown Seattle. But those are the red-headed stepchildren of retail, right? In reality, I much more comfortable shopping for a castoff (with a super-slashed price and a touch of character) than for the window-pants at Ann Taylor.

What gives?

It’s the Year of No New Threads!

The Pledge1 Mo. Down2 Mos. Down3 Mos. Down4 Mos. Down5 Mos. Down6 Mos. Down7 Mos. Down8 Mos. Down

4 Responses to “9 Mos. Down: The Year of No New Threads”

  1. Michelle said

    I’m with you on the retail aversion. There’s no thrill of the hunt, no story. I love knowing I have something one-of-a-kind–or at least something that should have cost a lot more.

  2. Grant Wagner said

    I agree, completely congrats on your challenge thus far. But, what are you going to do next year? You’re going to need something super challenging.

    How about something like $5 a week, to see how far it can go. Now that would be a challenge.

  3. That’s precisely it, Michelle. You’ve said it very well.

    Thanks for the congrats, Grant. I don’t know what next year holds! Mr. LS asked me that just the other day, as a matter of fact. I don’t know, I don’t know!

    $5/week seems intense; what about all of those thrift shop things that need a good home? :)

  4. […] • 3 Mos. Down • 4 Mos. Down • 5 Mos. Down • 6 Mos. Down • 7 Mos. Down • 8 Mos. Down • 9 Mos. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Fashionhound ·Tags: birthday, DIY, fashion, screenprinting, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

