2008: The Year of No New Threads

January 1, 2008

Inspired by ThreadBanger’s early-December challenge to wear DIY for a year, I’ve resolved to make 2008 the Year of No New Threads.

I added up my annual bauble-and-cloth expenditures, and I was shocked. What’s more, from what I can tell, I don’t even own half of the things I purchased in ’07. What a shame. And while I did donate my unwanted wearables to the local thrift-mart, I nevertheless am guilty of buying (mostly) new items and tiring of them all-too soon. Hence the Year of No New Threads.

Since I’m not much of a seamstress, I’ve decided to accept “new” accessories and articles of clothing if they come from:

  • The thrift store
  • A local artist
  • Recycled or reused material (see above)

As I mentioned earlier this week, Polyvore has got me rethinking my wardrobe. This New Year’s Resolution, however, should get me to move from the rethinking stage into the remastering stage.

Anyone care to take the challenge with me? Feel free to create your own rules. How will you execute a Year of No New Threads? Or, if you wanna make it official, register as a refashionista at Wardrobe Refashion. I just did, and will likely start paying my weekly blogging dues soon. Should get me back on the craft wagon, eh?

16 Responses to “2008: The Year of No New Threads”

  1. Justin Garland said

    OK. So, no new threads, huh? I like the sentiment and heaven knows I have more than enough clothes.

    I’m not sure what to do about t-shirts. A “locally produced” t-shirt is unheard of. And I have an aversion to wearing t-shirts from thrift stores. What am I to do? Does something like threadless.com count as “local artist?”

    If it weren’t for the t-shirt thing, I’d sign on in a second.

  2. riotflower said

    Good luck with your pledge! The more time you complete, the easier and more engrained it gets!

  3. Justin: Great questions. I’m formulating a post about this; tees are tough to come by, local-wise.

    riotflower: Thanks for the encouragement. I’ll need it!

  4. Wow, that’s great. I give you so much credit for being able to donate all of your unused clothes and accept this challenge. Good luck!

  5. Thanks. Check back for my progress. I’ll post updates month to month here at Living Small, but you can see my exciting weekly installments at Wardrobe Refashion!

  6. […] forward to now. Me, just outta the gate with the Year of No New Threads. Looking out on 12 mos. of no new clothes. So what do I go and do? I come back to the black — and […]

  7. […] the challenge hasn’t proved as difficult as I first had imagined. While I haven’t achieved complete […]

  8. […] To save on buying *new* sweaters and scarves and stuffed animals. You know about my Year of No New Threads, yeah? Well, knitting helps with that. I see and covet wooly items, and then I pinch myself. […]

  9. […] The Pledge • 1 Mo. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Fashionhound ·Tags: DIY fashion, thrift, year of no new threads, year of wearing DIY […]

  10. […] The Pledge • 1 Mo. Down • 2 Mos. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Fashionhound ·Tags: DIY wardrobe, polyvore, year of no new threads […]

  11. […] The Pledge • 1 Mo. Down • 2 Mos. Down • 3 Mos. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Craftopia, Fashionhound ·Tags: beret, blueberry muffin, DIY wardrobe, knitting, thrift, year of no new threads […]

  12. […] The Pledge • 1 Mo. Down • 2 Mos. Down • 3 Mos. Down • 4 Mos. Down • 5 Mos. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Hello […]

  13. […] The Pledge • 1 Mo. Down • 2 Mos. Down • 3 Mos. Down • 4 Mos. Down • 5 Mos. Down • 6 Mos. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Fashionhound ·Tags: ebay, fashion, thrift, vintage, year of no new threads […]

  14. […] The Pledge • 1 Mo. Down • 2 Mos. Down • 3 Mos. Down • 4 Mos. Down • 5 Mos. Down • 6 Mos. Down • 7 Mos. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Fashionhound ·Tags: fall 2008 color, fashion, marc jacobs, Pantone, secondhand, thrift, year of no new threads […]

  15. […] The Pledge • 1 Mo. Down • 2 Mos. Down • 3 Mos. Down • 4 Mos. Down • 5 Mos. Down • 6 Mos. Down • 7 Mos. Down • 8 Mos. Down • 9 Mos. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Fashionhound ·Tags: birthday, DIY, fashion, screenprinting, secondhand, thrift, year of no new threads […]

  16. […] The Pledge • 1 Mo. Down • 2 Mos. Down • 3 Mos. Down • 4 Mos. Down • 5 Mos. Down • 6 Mos. Down • 7 Mos. Down • 8 Mos. Down • 9 Mos. Down • 10 Mos. Down Posted by livingsmall Filed in Fashionhound ·Tags: closet, fashion, secondhand, thrift, year of no new threads […]

Leave a Reply

