Arrgh. Waste.

February 19, 2008

Double post today, but this one’s a quickie.

Ran across this vid at Planet Green. There’s a pit in my stomach because of it.

Aside from the emo Philip Glass–meets-Wilco soundtrack, I think this short rules, if for no other reason than the fact that it slams us with image after image of disposability. Arrgh, part II. How can we curb this mess?

Soapbox Alert: What follows are some Small solutions, food-wise.

  • Say it with me, kiddies: Take your own bags to the grocery store.
  • Tote your own silverware to work/family functions/fast food joints/anywhere that continues to furnish plastic cutlery and place settings.
  • Eat out and off of reusable dishware. Ceramic plates. Glass jars. Even multi-use Tupperware is better than one-time containers.
  • Two words: cloth napkins. Please. (Okay, that was three words, but I’m trying to be polite.)
  • Buy in bulk with your own bags and jars. Sometimes, the giant glass jar we use to purchase and store bulk flour gets heavy on the walk home from the market. I chalk it up to good exercise (or ask my husband to carry it).
  • Compost your food scraps. It’s easy! If you have garden space, bury the veggie dregs, the coffee grounds, the eggshells, etc., in the soil. You’ll get ultrarich humus in a matter of weeks. If you don’t have a garden space, but you have outdoor space, invest in a stand-up composter. Get moving at composters.com. If you don’t have either, toss your scraps into the yard waste bin near your dumpster. Or, if you’re simply out of options, lobby your local representatives to get yard waste on the disposal map and/or cart your scraps to a local community garden. Remember: Today’s broccoli stalk is tomorrow’s floret!
  • My new resolve: Bring your own doggie bag to a restaurant OR don’t order more than you can eat. I went out for Indian food last weekend, and the copious leftovers came home with me in styrofoam. I wanted to poke out my eyes with toothpicks. And, after watching the above video, I think I am going to do just that.

So, what else can we do?

3 Responses to “Arrgh. Waste.”

  1. […] Can I do anything but throw this in the garbage? It’s seen the wars. But Arrgh. Waste. […]

  2. Grant Wagner said

    There is one more item which I can think of, which is still relatively simple. Put a switch on your electronics!

    Things like TVs and Stereos still consume a large amount of electricity when “off” just so they can listen to the signal from your remote to turn it on, or so they can turn on faster. Put them on a switched power strip. If the switch is to inconvient, you can get one of those remote step buttons which are used for Christmas trees.

    The only down side, your VCR is always flashing 12 when its on, but heck. I’m a total tech geek and I still can’t figure out how to set it (or don’t care enough to learn)

  3. A great suggestion, Grant. I’m realizing that I have a few vampire electrics in my house. Power strip, ahoy!

Leave a Reply

