Bathtub Bouquet: At-Home Parfum

March 3, 2008

But soft! methinks I scent the morning air.

Perfume!

That’s me! I have of late been concocting my own eau de toilette. The recipe:

5 oz. water

2 drops lavender essential oil

1 drop lemon eucalyptus essential oil

1 drop citronella essential oil (esp. good for summer, when the ‘squitos are out)

Shake it up in a little bottle. Spritz. Smell nice.

While the initially lavendery nose doesn’t last all day, as do market perfumes, I’m guessing this water-based jazz does better by your skin and by other people’s sniffers. I spray it on my pressure points, and I mist it over my hair between washings.

It also works well for freshening up clothes after a tumble through the dryer or before a line-dry inside the house — daresay a mite more earth- and cloth-sound than Febreeze or other fabric fresheners, many of which don’t list their ingredients, and are therefore a bit fishy. Agree?

I’m trying to envision other scentual syntheses; any suggestions?

4 Responses to “Bathtub Bouquet: At-Home Parfum”

  1. Leslie said

    So…making “formula”, huh? Perchance you need Andrew’s help…he is an expert you know. Too bad you don’t have access to “smellorama” so your readers could experience your scentsational concoctions.

  2. Rorosto said

    I wouldn’t add this to your concoction for use as a perfume, but for Febreeze type uses, you can add vodka. I believe it’s about 1/3 vodka, 2/3 water (and if you’re inclined to add other stuff, go ahead…). Costumers in the theater swear by this to get rid of smells and freshen garments up to keep them from having to go to the drycleaners, like, ever.

  3. I’ve heard about this; thanks for the recipe. I’ll have to try it out. Follow up to come!

  4. estetica said

    Thanks for the recipe! Love it!

Leave a Reply

