4 Mos. Down: The Year of No New Threads

April 30, 2008

A little bit stronger every day.

I’m reporting another no-new-thread month at Living Small! (You can pat me on the back if you want.) I’ve been dangerously close to walking to the thrift store over the past two weekends, but other interests (and a lack of cashflow) have kept me on the wagon.

I did, however, knit a hat. Well, a beret. Well, more like a blue sack that makes me look like a plum, in the words of the Living Small Man. See below; it is as yet stitched together (note the orange-y stitch markers). Given the Blueberry Muffin look of this chapeau, I may be frogging the whole thing.

Should it stay or should it go? You be the judge:

Blueberry Me VS. Blueberry Muffin

More Year of No New Threads:

The Pledge1 Mo. Down2 Mos. Down3 Mos. Down

4 Responses to “4 Mos. Down: The Year of No New Threads”

  1. sewdiverse said

    I like it and think you should run a thin orange ribbon or yarn through it close to but not on the edge. The contrast would be great. But then, the contrast with your glasses is good too, so you could do a blue ribbon. I just happened upon this from flickr and am so blessed because I am in such dire need of stopping the insanity of buying stuff–sewing equipment, fabric, books, yarn, clothes, appliances, gifts, etc. Going to the Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival this weekend and have “said” that I will not buy because I don’t need. I am going on a bus trip with a friend who will not spend so she should be supportive. Should have had her with me last weekend at Nordstrom in Cleveland. You have a great site and now I am going to read the pledge, etc. Pray for me.

  2. Rhonda said

    I like your beret. I knitted one as part of my refashioning, too and funnily enough it was also compared to fruit, though mine was raspberry! I have been thoroughly enjoying your Living Small blog (which I happened upon through the Wardrobe Refashion site). Keep up the wonderful work!

  3. Justin The (French) Man said

    Ehh heh heh! Oui oui. J’aime le chapeau! It is too bad zat you do not live in my countreh. All of zee baguette salesmen and mimes would adore you!

    Congrats on 4 months of no new threads. Without even committing at the outset, I have (almost unintentionally) not bought any new clothes this year. I’m beginning to feel like since I’ve gone this far, I might as well make a point of going the whole year.

  4. Thanks, everyone! Perhaps I will keep the hat after all.

    sewdiverse: I’m glad you stumbled across my blog. Good luck with your pledge (and with going to a yarn show and not buying); sometimes it’s rough, but, once you get in the swing of things, it gets a little easier.

    Rhonda: Thanks! I haven’t been posting on WR much lately; not much to report, I suppose. Best to you in your future (fruity) refashions.

    French Justin: Eh? Mimes? Congrats to you, too, on your no new threads. You gonna take the pledge for the rest of the year? Hmm?

Leave a Reply

