An Apple a day keeps the paper at bay.

June 9, 2008

apple mouse

Breaking news from my friend Jill. The Apple Store in Seattle’s University Village shopping center has gone paperless.

This weekend, Jill went on a journey of iSight and iSound: She walked to said Apple Store to purchase some paraphernalia for her NanoPod, when a orange-shirted Apple employee approached her.

“Are you ready to check out?” Orange Apple Man asked.

“Why, yes. I am,” Jill replied. She was puzzled, though. No checkout counter. Nowhere. Nowhere in the store. Was this right? Had she stumbled into an episode of Night Gallery?

But the young man bestest her judgment: He drew from his pocket a wondrous invention — a mobile scanner, with which he logged Jill’s item and charged her credit card in one swift twitch of his wrist. Then, the Greenery:

“Shall I send the receipt to your Yahoo account?” he asked.

Jill nearly collapsed. “What, no paper receipt? No waste?”

Orange Apple Man smiled. “Of course not. We are Apple. We are The Future!” He bestickered the UPC code on her new headphones.

“Good day to you,” he said. Then vanished. Poof!

Okay, so maybe he didn’t vanish. But, when Jill arrived home and casually checked her Yahoo email, there was the eReceipt. Oooeeeeeooo. Eerie.

*Read more about my own quest for paperlessness here.*

3 Responses to “An Apple a day keeps the paper at bay.”

  1. Grant Wagner said

    There are two oddities about macs.

    (1) If you’re like me, you can’t live without a “pocket media player” (I don’t use iPods), but they seem to just die every 3 years or so. That is a lot of landfill. I’m now on my 3rd, and it makes me wonder. Will we ever get past this disposable electronics stage?

    (2) That handheld scanner is a Symbol, and it run (drum roll please!) Windows!! That’s right, the apple store is powered by Windows CE devices.

  2. Aieee! Apple powered by Windows? Where can I get more info on that?

    As for me, I’m a Mac-ie, and I’ve had great luck with my iPod. Still kicking after 4+ years. Maybe Macs are the only “pocket media player” built Ford tough.

  3. […] this? This is a refillable bullet pen. It is made of recycled Corian. And it is handmade by my friend Jill’s dad. I am (nearly) speechless over this work of beauty, lathed by a Washington artisan out […]

Leave a Reply

