It’s the longest day of the year.

June 20, 2008

sunny mcsun

The official start of sun-season in the norther hemisphere hits at 4 p.m. PST today. That means Summer Solstice, which means extra daylight. (For the pessimists, it means that, after today, our daylit hours grow shorter. But never fear: only six months of waning days, and then it’s back to the slow crank-up of the sun-to-moon ratio.)

And, if you’re anywhere near Seattle, you’re into street festivals, and you don’t mind naked people, turn out for the Fremont Fair and Solstice Parade, Saturday from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., and Sunday from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.

6 Responses to “It’s the longest day of the year.”

  1. jill said

    Woo hoo!! Old man winter, here we come! I, for one, will be counting down the days.

  2. Justin The Man (Who Doesn't Mind Naked People) said

    I arrived in Seattle yesterday and was shocked–SHOCKED, I say–to discover that it’s light until 10PM! I love summer in the Northwest.

  3. pamela said

    Ha ha! I was just sending a note to my Seattle friend asking if she’d seen any naked people today? Did you go to pay your respects to the Troll? :D

  4. As a matter of fact, I didn’t see any nakeds, nor did I see the Troll; instead, Husband and I had a breakfast picnic in the park. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

