I’m a knitter in (k)need.

July 10, 2008

baby in bonnet

Help! I’m going to a baby shower on Sunday for a little girlie. I’d love to whip up something sweet (and fast). The bun is due at the end of August, so something autumn-inspired would be beauteous. What’s more, the Mommy could be okay with something a little less trad and more tres tuff.

Suggestions? Pattern links?

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.

8 Responses to “I’m a knitter in (k)need.”

  1. Sue said

    Been to http://www.knitty.com? Lots of patterns — look in the archive. Good Luck!

  2. ritesofpassage said

    How fast can you knit? The kimono in Mason-Dixon Knitting (at your library?) knits up pretty quickly. (Or this free pattern looks kind of like it: http://thecompletefabrication.blogspot.com/2007/11/bulky-seamless-baby-kimono.html.)

    A pair of booties should be dooable: http://fuzzygalore.biz/patterns/cbbooties.shtml

    And maybe a hat to match if there’s time: http://aproudusafwife.blogspot.com/2007/11/baby-hat.html

  3. Jenna said

    I’ve gotten good responses from the Pea Pod Baby Set (originally in Interweave Knits magazine Summer 2006 – it was up on the Knitting Daily site for a short time, but I think they took it down again. I’m hoping your library or your friends network or back copies are available somewhere!). Google will give you lots of finished project pictures!

    Much more generally – grab a tea and browse through the baby section on knittingpatterncentral.com – all free, but then also not vetted, so there may be some pitfalls!

  4. Ask, and ye shall receive! Wow. Thanks, everyone, for the help. I’m loving that little kimono; wondering if I’m fast enough, though. The hat is adorable, too.

    I’ll also check through the knitty.com archives.

    So many choices, so little time. Quite literally! Thanks again, all. If you think of anything else, let me know.

  5. Trust me when I tell you that especially the buly version is a days work. ;)

  6. I’m worried about the bulky version; seems too bulky, especially for a little baby. Am I wrong?

  7. In a cold climate it is actually really cuddly. Either way, the DK version is pretty quick too.

  8. Thanks, Jacki. I didn’t end up kimono-ing it this time, but I’m glad to have this pattern on reserve for the next baby.

Leave a Reply

