The other use for a ceramic buffalo.

September 24, 2008

And you thought your buffalo figurine had only one purpose. My new bovine buddy, snagged for a quarter at a friend’s candlelight yard sale (long story), is not only good for looks — he is now set up in the WC to hold my wedding ring and hair elastics!

Because I’ve been drawn to ceramic animals of late, I’ve been forced to finagle second uses from their generally one-shot wondrousness. The buffalo functions well as a station for round objects; can’t say so much for the 8-inch-tall, caramel-colored sea monster that my Sweetie found at thrift town, though it does make a killer centerpiece. It is hollow, so perhaps I could stash a tiny bottle of liquor in it, à la the wino side table or a miniature shebeen.

What’s your second use show and tell?

2 Responses to “The other use for a ceramic buffalo.”

  1. […] no Spartan. I like cush. I like tchotchkes. Figuring out how to maintain my junky collection of figural animals and vintage bottles and funky trays and, yes, books, has been a challenge. I’ve had to put […]

  2. Mark said

    Hey, I just picked up this same ceramic buffalo figurine for 50 cents at a junk sale today. Don’t suppose you know anything about it–i.e. how old it is, who made it, etc.? :)

Leave a Reply

