It’s curtains for me! (and you!)

November 3, 2008

After relegating all but one set of came-with-the-house venetian blinds to the crawlspace, I was more than set to go all-curtain, all the time.

I’d been struggling with what kind of window dressing to use for this little window off the office room: cafe curtain? Roller blind? Those gel stickums shaped like Santa Claus? I was stuck with indecision. Enter ReadyMade, a DIY’ers dream mag, a copy of which I picked up for free at Bumbershoot. The August/September issue featured a whole article on curtains. W00t!, as they say.

I liked their Modular Drapes project, which requires only two tension rods and fabric cut to fit your window (aside from a sewing machine, measuring tape, scissors, standard trappings of seaming, blah, blah, blah). This project bears a difficulty rating of “cro-magnon” (I’m not joking; there’s a highlighted image of a cro-magnon man next to the directions in the mag), so I figured it’d be a snap, considering my mad skillz with sewing straight lines on my little Brother. Here’s the finished product, both open and closed:

and

Holy Roman shade it isn’t, but a close approximation thereof: a faux bois-patterned, movable shade that provides some privacy, but lets the sunshine in. It’s easy! All you gotta do is:

  1. Measure your window. Duh.
  2. Mark those measurements on your fabric, adding a 1″ seam allowance to the sides, and a 2.5″ allowance on the top an bottom (more if your tension rods are bigger).
  3. Now, with the wrong side of the fabric facing you, fold the sides under .5″ and then .5″ again, thereby creating a clean, .5″ edge. Iron this edge in place, and stitch down.
  4. Fold the top and bottom edges as with the sides, but don’t stitch; instead, fold them up to create tube or pocket through which you’ll thread the tension rod. Stitch down.
  5. Thread said tension rods. Stick it in your window.
  6. Do a little dance.

Or, if you’re not into this pattern, check out ReadyMade’s curtain archive. Then do a little dance.

4 Responses to “It’s curtains for me! (and you!)”

  1. The Choir said

    Interesting–a curtain operated by moving the rod up and down . . . interesting . . . I wonder if there are any other ways to set this up . . . ? (Inside joke.) Nice making and sizing of the curtain, though–it looks perfectly beautiful.

  2. Thanks, Choirboy. And thank you for all of your suggestions, even though I didn’t take any of them.

    And thanks for hanging up my coatrack, despite the fact that you’re my Chinese Zodiac mortal enemy. We’ll show ’em — we’ll show the world!

  3. The Choir said

    Why I oughta …

    1) Dig potatoes without you and yell, “There’s not another one there!” just to show you . . .

    2) Buy you another (slightly-illegally-gotten- gain) coffee at B&N . . . (Shout out to Random House, and to Penguin, USA!!)

    3) Slit my mouth and face from ear to ear–Wait, that would hurt ME more–no, no, “That’ll hurt you more than it hurts me!” Well, aesthetically, anyway . . . AARRGH!!!

  4. […] beats having to toss crumpled gift-shells, even if you’re recycling. (I Spy Smallers! Is that faux bois fabric […]

Leave a Reply

