Bookworms are Small, right?

November 19, 2008

I’m stuck. And so I turn to you all, my bloggy community, to ask: What should I read?

I need a good piece of fiction. Just finished The Virgin Suicides (beautiful!) and The Color Purple (epistolary, but all right), and I’m a sucker for epics like Lonesome Dove and singular voices as in Peace Like a River. One condition: I have to be able to get it at the library.

Suggestions?

23 Responses to “Bookworms are Small, right?”

  1. Michelle said

    Have you read The History of Love by Nicole Krauss?

  2. Kim said

    It seems like an obvious choice, I know it’s very popular, but have you read Life of Pi by Yann Martel?

    I am just some person on the internet, but I cannot recommend highly enough a book titled Handling Sin by Michael Malone. It is less likely that your library would have this book… but there’s always interlibrary loan? At any rate, that book is completely awesome.

    I also highly recommend Little, Big by John Crowley.

  3. louisa said

    Since you liked the Virgin Suicides and love epics, I’d recommend Jeffrey Eugenides’ next book ‘Middlesex’: it follows the story of a family over about 80 years from Greece to the US.

    I’m also a big big fan of TC Boyle’s stuff – ‘The Inner Circle’ (a fictional account of life with Kinsey) and ‘Drop City’ (set in a hippie commune and wilderness Alaska) are my favourites but I’ve liked all the ones I’ve read — really well written and utterly absorbing imho.

    I don’t know if you’ll be able to get them from a library though – depends on how well the library is stocked I guess.

  4. Demelza said

    I loved “Motherless Brooklyn,” by Jonathon Lethem

  5. Justin said

    Green Grass, Running Water by Thomas King–he weaves mythology and everyday life on the reservation. Astounding!

    Have you ventured into Carmelo by Sandra Cisneros? I think you’d like it very much.

  6. Jonathan S said

    I would agree, that T.C. Boyle’s “Drop City” is a fine book indeed. And, if, by chance, you haven’t read “A Confederacy of Dunces,” that’d be a good choice. For more humorous novels, there’s a small creative novel done by Mark Dunn called “Ella Minnow Pea.”

  7. Winnie said

    I’m not sure I understand the problem. Did you not say that your Mr works at the library? Perhaps he’s not a librarian. I would second the motion on Thomas King’s Green Grass Running Water. If you like that and have a bent for mysteries you could then try Dreadful Water Shows Up by Hartley GoodWeather (Thomas King psuedonym). You could also try Joseph Boyden, winner of Canada’s giller prize last week. His Three Day Road won an award and the Giller winner has Through Black Spruce in the title.

  8. Grant Wagner said

    My inner geek won’t let it go, so I gotta recommend The Lord of the Rings, and The Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy. The second was the first and only book which had my laughing out loud the entire time.

  9. Greg said

    Greetings, I love the suggestions so far. I will have to check out a few of these myself. Have you read the “Outlander” series by Diana Gabaldon? If you like history, romance and adventure, you can not go wrong with this series. She has produced six books in the series so far, and a new one on the horizon for 2010. My wife and I love them.

  10. The Choir said

    The 4-volume Lonesome Dove quartet. The Lawrence Durrell 4-volume Quartet. The Count of Monte Cristo.

  11. The Choir said

    Oh, god, you HAVE to read Motherless Brooklyn, and also Mystic River.

  12. The Choir said

    GEEK LOVE!!!!

  13. Rhonda said

    For epic I agree with Greg above, Gabaldon’s Outlander series is great, just don’t plan on getting anything else done once you start! I also really enjoyed Sarah Addison Allen’s “Garden Spells” and “Sugar Queen”.

  14. I second “Middlesex.” And Duncan’s “The River Why.” And also Mary Ann Samyn’s “Captivity Narrative,” if you want to read some poems.

  15. Kissley said

    Hm, of the 150 million books we have at the British Library, I just don’t know how I can recommend anything…

  16. Lindsay said

    I just read two books that were probably the best I’ve read in years (and I read ALOT of books!):
    They are:
    “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak
    “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian” by Sherman Alexie.
    The New York Times described the former as “life-changing”!

  17. TWB said

    I’m currently reading The Audacity of Hope, by Barack Obama. Although it’s not fiction, it is beautifully written and thoroughly enjoyable.

  18. Thank you, thank you, everyone, for the great recommendations! I’ve put all of these books on hold at the library (with the exception of those I’ve already read, though that number is small). While my husband is a library man, he’s only one person — now I have recs from more than a dozen of you, and, in turn, you have recs from each other.

    Thanks again, and happy reading, everyone.

  19. juddie said

    Have you read ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’ by Audrey Niffenegger? I really loved that book – don’t be put off by the confusing beginning. It really drew me in and was perfect for curling up with on a cold day.

  20. Corrie said

    My favorite book ever is “Savage Beauty” by Nancy Milford. It’s a biography of poet Edna St. Vincent Millay. Also great is Milford’s biography of Zelda Fitzgerald, “Zelda”.

  21. Stacey said

    hmmm… I would suggest The Chinese Seamstress, and The Binding Chair. (Both thinker books that I would put in the same category as a cross between Peace Like a River and The Heart of Darkness yea! AP:) (only on the eerie level))

    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is laugh out loud funny… I read it during ssr at school and I couldn’t stop giggling. My students think I’m totally weird!!!

    Are you coming home for Turkey Day? Or xmas? Would love to see you!!
    Love, the other Freddy

  22. Justin said

    I know it means extra work for you, but I’d LOVE to see these comments compiled into a list.

    What a great post!

  23. Thanks for the additional suggestions, everyone; I will put them into a list for you all to enjoy. And feel free to add more!

Leave a Reply

