Wine bottles to candlesticks in 1, 2, 3

November 25, 2008

I love Design*Sponge, especially on DIY Wednesdays. Hot doggies, guys! Does she have some sweet crafty projects to share.

And, given that I’m a well-mannered wino, my eyes got googly when I saw this great DIY idea: wine bottles to candlesticks.

And they’re easy to make, too, no foolsies. All you need is a glass cutting kit (okay, specialty tools don’t equal utter simplicity), some matches (also great for lighting the candles), an ice cube or two, sandpaper, and the vessels from last night’s vin. Follow the post’s instructions, and you’ve got yourself some recycled candle-rests. What’s more, you can use the other half as a vase or a big ol’ drinking glass.

3 Responses to “Wine bottles to candlesticks in 1, 2, 3”

  1. The Choir said

    Calling the 70’s, calling the 70’s . . . is that my brother laid out among the roach clips and dripping wax candles, Pink Floyd’s “See Emily Play” looping out of the crate-sized AR’s?

    As an early teen, I made a set of 8 glass tumblers out of wine bottles, using the glass-cutting tools I got for Christmas. I thought they were cool, but the hard part was emory-papering the edges smooth. If you left them too sharp after cutting, the effect after everyone drank was a family with bloody wide grins ala Cesar Romero–Heath Ledger would have been proud of me . . . never did find out where that glass-cutting kit went.

    This has been the 70’s, brought to you courtesy of 99.44% pure Ivory Soap–it’s so pure, it floats!

  2. Woodworker and glass-cutter, too! Where do your talents end?

    If I make these, I’ll take your advice about the sanding — unless, of course, I’m going for a bloody-grin theme.

  3. […] Living Small has a great idea for turning them into neat looking candle sticks using a glass cutter. […]

Leave a Reply

