The Twelve Days of Craftsmas: Easy Ornaments

December 14, 2008

So you’ve got your tree. You’ve whipped up your tree skirt. Now it’s time to priss-out your pine with all the trimmings apropos of the Christmas holiday. I’ve got a few projects for ye; details when you link through. Suffice to say, all four ideas are simple, and all four can make use of secondhand goods:

MOD SQUAD PAPER ORNAMENTS via Design*Sponge

***********************************************************

SECOND-USE PAPER ORNAMENTS via Re-Nest/Kate’s Paperie

***********************************************************

STUFFY, CLOTHY BIRD ORNAMENTS via The Purl Bee

***********************************************************

And, my personal favorite:

HALF-EATEN GINGERBREAD MAN FELT ORNAMENTS via Elsie Marley/ThreadBanger

***********************************************************

Of course, if you’re neither a seamster, nor a paper-queen, try this Slash Photo Wreath, handmade for me last year by my crafty pal, The Choir:

MATERIALS

  • Wooden photo wreath ornament, available at most craft supply stores
  • Tempera paint
  • An image of your beloved (or Slash, nearly one in the same for me), clipped from a magazine or newspaper

MAKE IT

Paint your wreath in a design and color-scheme of your choice. (The Choir went trad, to offset the content.) Then, snip your image and slip it into the frame. Hang on tree, and play your sweetest November Rain air guitar solo.

And, if you’re not hot to deck your halls with these ornaments, check out ThreadBanger’s DIY Ornament Roundup. Some good ‘uns there, no jive.

5 Responses to “The Twelve Days of Craftsmas: Easy Ornaments”

  1. kristina said

    Love the stuffed birdies…I have tons of left over baby fabrics.. I think I’ll whip up a tree for the kiddos room. Maybe a stuffed tree too… Or even a mobile. Like I don’t have a hundred crafts to finish up already :)

  2. The birds are great, right? And they are the perfect scraps-craft, too. Share pics of the birdies when you’re through!

  3. Mouse said

    I love the eaten gingerbread man ornaments! Saw a great card at the Renegade Craft Fair Holiday Sale in Chicago (which I now can’t find online) that shows a gingerbread man, captioned “Why did you eat my house?”

    Love it.

  4. Ha! That’s great. It would be delightful to make the half-eaten gingerbread man and a half-eaten gingerbread house, too.

  5. Janice said

    I thought that the paper ornaments at the top are so nifty! I was looking for something hang on my closet doors that was unique and it looks like I found it…thanks a bunch!

Leave a Reply

