Farewell, domino magazine.

January 31, 2009

While many of you likely know the sad fate of domino magazine, I nevertheless feel obliged to eulogize the glossy upon its passing. Apparently, the March issue marks the last in a long line of well-done shelter-focused publications (Et tu, Condé Nast?). domino, I will miss you — you and your ultra-expensive ottomans and paeans to Greek Key patterns and leopard-print carpeting.

In the big scheme, however, is it not better for the environment that fewer magazines are being printed? That’s a lot of paper to make every month, and heaven knows that not all of it gets recycled (a process that, while better than landfilling, won’t save us anyhow).

But what about the future of print publications? Surely technology can’t replace all print matter. Can it?

4 Responses to “Farewell, domino magazine.”

  1. Grant Wagner said

    Well, for me it has. I much rather burn coal that waste paper anyway. Okay, maybe not, but at least I can always, in theory, run my lappy off of wind and solar.

    Still, it’s a little sad that so many content producers (the good part of the magazine, not related to the printing) are so tightly coupled to their media. I may write the 2nd best rag in the world, but if I can’t get people to read it in paper, I’ll have to go digital, and then I’m directly competing worldly with the first best rag, and then I’ll simply not get any readers. The internet is the most brutal leveling ground.

  2. Amanda said

    Sniff, sniff. Weep.

  3. I know, I know, Amanda! Maybe a new, better shelter pub will rise in its place…?

    Good point, Grant, re: the leveling ground. And is there something about the tactility of a magazine vs. the remove of a computer screen?

  4. And, in case you missed it, an excellent article in the NYT about the fold. Thanks, Choir, for forwarding.

Leave a Reply

