Keep on the Sunscreen Side

May 28, 2009

Summer’s on the way here in Seattle, and, for me, summer = sunburns, lest I slather myself in SPFs, per Baz Luhrmann (and Mary Schmich). These blue sky days are anathema to my Twilight-worthy complexion, and I’m not a happy Living Smaller when I’m covered in chemically sunblocks.

Enter Mother Earth News‘ piece on natural, DIY sunscreen! Turns out that all kinds of household products — from sesame oil to lanolin, cucumber mash to witch hazel — can be whipped together to make some A-#1 sun repellent, according to Dian Dancin Buchman, author of The Complete Herbal Guide to Natural Beauty. True? Safe? I’m not sure, but I’m willing to give it a go, at least once.

Mother Earth also reports that increasing your intake of vitamins C and B can help your skin deflect nasty UV rays, too, so up your servings of cantaloupe and brewer’s yeast, ladies and gents!

Anybody out there blocking the sun in other natural ways? Postbellum hats, maybe?

4 Responses to “Keep on the Sunscreen Side”

  1. Laura said

    Interesting…I would love to learn more about natural sunscreen. All those chemicals! Bleck. But skin cancer…not so much a fan of that either! Me, I try to stay in the shade. :)

  2. I try to shade myself, too, for sure. But sometimes you just can’t find any. I am a little nervous about trying DIY sunscreen, too, given the quickness with which I turn lobster…

  3. The Choir said

    Lobster? LOBSTER you say? I have this picture to show you detailing what may happen to your hands if you do not put on the proper amount of sunscreen….

  4. Choir: I don’t want to see it. Ever. Again. :)

Leave a Reply

