Ooo! Skeletons!

October 28, 2008

Look at these ooky-spooky cookies, all dressed up for Halloween! As a lady who favors homemade treats over store-bought, I’m delighted by Heidi Kenney’s creepy and creative use of everyday cookie cutters and a little white icing.

Particularly nice are the owls — I’m planning a bony menagerie for my All Hallow’s Eve festivities. How about you?

10 Responses to “Ooo! Skeletons!”

  1. The Choir said

    Little Polenta-Stuffed Skulls of Death, anyone? I make polenta (with homemade chicken stock, mind you–the only way to go) and spoon it, still warm, into small 3″ plastic round hollow white skulls. When people tiny-spoon out the polenta to eat it, EWWW! Polenta Brains, properly, grossly cornmeal-grainy and Romano-cheese stringy!!! But so yummy!

  2. WARNING: I could not finish mine last year, people. The gross-out factor was too high!

  3. Emily said

    I LOVE the skeleton cookies AND the polenta! I have a very high tolerance for gross things!

    What I do not have is the mastery of an icing bag required to make ribs and bones and things. They’d probably all just look like anorexic ghosts!

  4. The Choir said

    Anorexic Ghosts! Disconnected femurs! Bendible ulnas! EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    (Woo-oooh-oooh-ooooooh… i.e., appropriate Theremin-like sounds)

  5. I posted about these cookies and readers are already sending in photos of the ones THEY made. I saw this post originally on Apartment Therapy and they were taking the credit. I am sooo glad I found your post linking back to the original source.

    I have changed my links and am now linking back to you and Heidi.

    I have been subscribing to your Living Small blog for a while. Maybe you would like to subscribe to mine too. ♥Rosemary
    http://contentinacottage.blogspot.com/2008/10/halloween-gingerbread-skeleton-cookies.html

  6. Aren’t these cookies awesome? I made my own batch, too: longhorn skulls and bat skeletons. Very Georgia O’Keefe.

    Thanks for referencing Living Small, too. Love the images on your blog, by the way.

  7. Jonathan S said

    Me and my brothers decorate somewhat offensive gingerbread boys for Christmas every year. We try and top each other with our creativity. Last year, for example, “Titanic Victim” was beat out by “Small Pox Kid.”

  8. I do like Titanic Victim, however. What about Iron Lung Boy?

  9. […] Living Small version of Heidi’s gingerbread skeletons. Longhorn skulls ‘n’ bat bones. Delectably debauched. Posted by livingsmall Filed […]

Leave a comment